• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Any Late Starters who became great trumpeters?

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Trumpet2003

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2014 8:03 pm    Post subject: Any Late Starters who became great trumpeters? Reply with quote

Are there any really good professional trumpeters who didn't start playing trumpet until they were 50?

I started playing trumpet when I was 50, and do not play any other instrument or sing. All the trumpeters I read about started playing when they were kids. It would be cool to know of some that started later.

No matter what answers turn up, I'll keep playing because it is fun and I am slowly getting better. Nevertheless, it would be fun to know!
jiarby
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2014 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hope so.. I just turned 49! At this point (after 3-1/2 yrs) I am still a work in progress, but I get better every week.... it's bound to add up eventually.
weeweetrumpet
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2014 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nvidal is gonna win NY Phil and he's an old banker. We all in the trumpetherald community are so proud of him.
Trumpet2003

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2014 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jiarby wrote:
I hope so.. I just turned 49! At this point (after 3-1/2 yrs) I am still a work in progress, but I get better every week.... it's bound to add up eventually.

Don't give up - I am still a work in progress after 11 years!
Trumpet2003

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2014 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

weeweetrumpet wrote:
Nvidal is gonna win NY Phil and he's an old banker. We all in the trumpetherald community are so proud of him.

Cool! Who is he/she (what is the rest of their name)? Does he/she have a web site?
beagle
Veteran Member