• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

..Scholarship?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Squeeker

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2003 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sorry if this has been asked before, but I really dont feel like going through all the pages in a search trying to find this topic, so I'm just going to post and take what flames I might get for not searching. Anyway, I've got a question to ask of you, but I need to give you some background first so be patient. I'm a sophomore trumpet player from wyoming. I've been playing for about 4 years now, and I'm in my schools jazz band and wind ensemble (the most advanced band, the other is concert band). I play third part in both bands. My range is pretty piss-poor (I saw a post where someone said he could hit double high C as a freshman) The highest i've ever played is C# (the one just above the staff) and that was last year. My range hasnt improved since then, and I've practiced at least an hour every night since then. So anyway I just wanted to ask, do I have even a ghost of a chance of getting any kind of scholarship for my trumpet playing..? Especially with my (lack of) skills. Should I keep trying and use up most all of my time on trumpet to try to get into a college with my playing ability or give it up and try to find something else to do...? thanks in advance..
fuzzyjon79
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2003 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't throw your music away just because you think you don't have a decent range. You're only a sophmore in high school and you've still got 2 years to go before college. I suggest you read the following article and maybe it can help you put things in perspective about your playing:

http://www.eddielewis.com/trumpet/essays/babies.htm