• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Dick Cathcart, Red Nichols, Welk Trpt. Section, etc

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Scoop222

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 10:35 pm    Post subject: Dick Cathcart, Red Nichols, Welk Trpt. Section, etc Reply with quote

I just signed up for Trumpetherald after reading posts for many years. I've been playing in the Midwest for the past 53 years and am a bandleader and arranger. I own almost every recording by Red Nichols & Dick Cathcart and hopefully can answer many questions you might have about them, especially Red. I also know a lot about the Welk band and their trumpet players, especially the ones from the early TV days. I love all the old style music - but I also love more current guys like Nicholas Peyton and Terrance Blanchard. And Don Fagerquist is also a "hero" of mine. And I was recently given a CD with New York trumpeter Dick Perry talking about his life & playing some excerpts from Shows - what a player - he MADE a LOT of MUSIC with his horn. I currently play on a Bach 3C mouthpiece and sometimes a Giardinelli 6 S. I also recently found a Bach 3D mouthpiece that was the same size supposedly played by Bernie Glow & the New York guys, but it's not easy for me to play. Just yesterday, a friend who played a little bit with the Chicago Symphony years ago gave me a Bach 7 (plain 7 - no letter) (Mt. Vernon) to try that was supposedly owned by Adolph Herseth at one time. That one plays well! I'd like to hear comments or questions about this post from those of you who like the "old time guys."
gbshelbymi
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 6:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No real comments other than to say "welcome"!
solo soprano
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome,