• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Starting the note

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Lie601

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2016 3:39 am    Post subject: Starting the note Reply with quote

Hi All,

So I have been playing for a few years now, but recently one of my peers told me that I am "swooping" into the note. Let me clarify, she said that I am not starting on the note but rather I am starting somewhere below it and sliding up to the note. How would I fix this!

Thanks!
Sarah
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2016 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One of the pedagogy books i recently read (can't recall which author though, sorry) talks about 'singing' the note mentally.. setting up the vocal chords etc to the right air speed etc, and then playing.

You sort of have to aim for the middle of the sound, rather than climbing up through the harmonics, if that makes sense. It is hard to do on high notes. A trick that helps me with my woodwinds, is to think about coming from above the note, and sliding down. it is sort of an over correction. and is quite effective.
zaferis
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2016 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could be, and probably several physical things going on. Without seeing and hearing you play it will be quite difficult to understand what the issue is physically.

You need to hear that you're doing it so you can fix it; record yourself and listen critically... do you understand the problem? Stop it!

At first blush, I'd GUESS that you're not getting your air stream fully pressurized at the beginning of your note(s) and may be a way of feeling more secure in hitting the note.