• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Which horn to buy?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
verve

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2003 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm currently thinking about a new horn, so maybe someone can help me to make the right decision.
I'm playing in a university big band the lead and also in a symphonic wind orchestra the 1st trumpet - so it would be good to get a suitable horn for both - classical and jazz.
Also, as I'm not a professional trumpet player, I want to keep it under 1000 USD. I've been thinking about a Veril Regium (ET9071), but is there anything else out there??

Verve
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
camelbrass
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2003 6:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there,

I'm not sure what's available in Estonia but I'll bet somebody has a Yamaha dealership..I think you'll find them generally better than Weril trumpets. If you can then my suggestion would be a 6335 model. Very solid all round horn...and because they're well under US$1000 in the States even given import duty and shipping you should be able to manage.

Hope this helps.

Trevor
jhatpro
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2003 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree. The 6335 is the model played by Alan Chez of the Letterman Show band before he switched to a Wild Thing. I have a 6335 and it's great for both jazz and classical.

"The notes are there - find them.” Mingus

2021 Martinus Geelan Custom
2005 Bach 180-72R
1965 Getzen Eterna Severinsen
1946 Conn Victor
1998 Scodwell flugel
1986 Bach 181 cornet
1954 Conn 80A cornet
2002 Getzen bugle
fuzzyjon79
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2003 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote