• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Upper Register Mentality

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
paulnewcomb

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2003 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

(okay so this started out as a single paragraph, now it's a short story!)

Hello everybody,

I've been playing the trumpet for about 10 years now and I've always been considered a pretty decent player by most people. That being said, my main problem was that I always had trouble with the upper register (tensing up, psyching myself out). I've even gone through a few aggravating embouchure changes in the past couple years. Just recently, I've started to realize that I can change my embouchure and do isometric excersises until my head explodes, but my playing will not improve until I get past some mental blocks.

It's kind of a strange thing. Long story short: In my early high school days, I could scream out double g's - even c's sometimes without giving it a second thought. It was fun! Nobody ever told me it was a difficult task. But, as I started playing more seriously and headed for college I lost that certain "innocence" in my playing and started losing my confidence as a player for reasons I won't go into just now. Somehow, I slowly convinced myself that playing the trumpet was supposed to be difficult & strenous until I could barely even sqeeze out a g above the staff without tensing up my whole body and closing off my throat. It was not a pretty sound might I add
This eventually led to embouchure changes, hours of useless isometric exercises, over-analysis, and as you can imagine, much frustration.