• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Taking notes from Wynton's embouchure set: top lip anchor

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jazz@heart

PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 11:00 am    Post subject: Taking notes from Wynton's embouchure set: top lip anchor Reply with quote

I have been going through an embouchure change the last few months. I had bilateral Bell's Palsy a few years ago and when I started playing again, I was playing off-center. Eventually I was playing anywhere from 3-6 days a week in jazz, salsa, and funk bands and my lip started hurting so I took a short break and went back to the basics - lip buzzing and a more centered embouchure.

I recently noticed that both Terence Blanchard and Wynton Marsalis, and one of my teachers, anchor the mouthpiece on their top lip and bring in the bottom lip inside the cup. When I tried playing this way I found it's so much easier, at least for me.

I think it's a Stevens-ish embouchure, and the amount of lower lip curl is relative to both the size of your bottom lip and the size of the mouthpiece. For example, relatively smaller mouthpieces will give you more curl, b/c you have to curl your lip more to get it inside the mouthpiece. Also, with big lower lips, you get more preset tension (so it works for people with big lips, like myself). More preset tension makes it easier to play high, as long as your lips are comfortable and can be flexible. This makes the mouthpiece act as a crutch as it kind of presets your lip tension. It makes sense to make the mouthpiece work for us, instead of against us! My sound is more relaxed and all the muscle I am building from lip buzzing is able to be used in the higher register, rather than for second line G. It's pretty simple, just anchor on the top lip, bring in the bottom lip, and blow.