• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

What is your opinion of Besson?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Shogo

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2003 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm new to the forums and I mozied my way in here and I was just wondering what your opinion of besson Trumpets was. I'm a highschool student and I"m really getting into trumpets, should I be using a different horn now that I've played for about 5 years, or was a 7c-3c mouthpeice change good enough to get me through my last couple of years in HS?
jhatpro
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2003 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to TH! To answer your question, Besson makes good horns. Whether it's the right horn for you to continue to play depends a lot on its condition and whether it plays well for you. Is if allowing you to play the way you'd like to? What does your teacher and/or band director think of your sound? How about other players?

As for your question about mouthpieces, I assume you have either gone from a 7C to a 3C, or are considering it. Again, it all depends on the sound you're getting. A lot of very successful players play 7C while others use a 3C. There's no requirement that, as you get older or become more experienced you need to move to a larger piece. As with horns, it's a matter of finding the combination of equipment that best suits your needs.

You may want to take your horn and mouthpiece(s) to a store that will let you play test a bunch of different models and see how they compare with your current setup. It's a good idea to take another player along to get a second opinion. You might even want to take some notes on what combination plays well.