• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Commercial horns with easiest projection?

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
chip crotts

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2018 5:52 pm    Post subject: Commercial horns with easiest projection? Reply with quote

Hi All,

I'm interested to hear what horns you've played that seem to have the easiest acoustic projection for most commercial/big band type applications. I'm at a point in my career and age that I'm focusing more on "bang for the buck" with sound and trying to find the sweet spot where I'm comfortable dynamically, but getting the most projection out of my horn.

I've been playing my Yamaha 6310Z off and on for almost 25 years, but as I've recently fully recovered from Bell's Palsy, I'm working on even more efficiency. I've come back stronger in many ways this time around, but as I'm also recording myself more these days, I just don't quite feel that the Z "sparkles" enough without having to lean into it more than I'd like. I want to be able to sit back and coast and let the projection do more of the work now.

I've been thinking about trying other horns such as Schilke Faddis, Jupiter Ingram, Bach Commercial, Callet, Calicchio, Benge and also a few lightweight Shires. I'm comfortable with most bore sizes from M to ML, so I'm open to all suggestions and appreciate your insight.

Best acoustic projection and sound with moderate amount of work, GO!
Trumpetmannj

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2018 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The z horn is probably easiest to play, rogers horn is his interpretation of a z Horn, I like the benge 3x for sound to effort ratio. Also the schilke b6
Conn 38b
Holton 48
zaferis
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2018 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think they are all worth a try, if you can manage that.