• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

"Maximizing Practice to Maximize Results "

View previous topic :: View next topic  
jackz9999

PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2003 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In Mark van Cleave's article on his site entitled "Maximizing Practice to Maximize Results ", he talks about how he could actually see the amount of improvement he made practice session. I have been practicing out of Arban's for a couple of years under the guidance of a teacher. The problem is, my improvement day to day is difficult to see. I was wondering if there are any method books that can harbor this steady and noticeable improvement that Mark van Cleave talks about.

Thanks

[ This Message was edited by: jackz9999 on 2003-12-06 17:40 ]
romey1
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2003 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not what book you use, but how you use it. Check out Michael Sachs "Daily Fundamentals for the Trumpet" for help with approaching Arban's, Clarke, Flexibility Studies, etc. It's really helpful for someone who wants to set up a routine.

romey
HorneyMikey
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2003 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Romey,

Where can I find Michael Sach's book?

MIke

[ This Message was edited by: HorneyMikey on 2003-12-07 05:32 ]
robert_white
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2003 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Keep in mind that the ability to see results from a practice session is dependant on a couple of things: