• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

WHAT IN THE WORLD ARE "FLUFFY" MOUTHPIECES

View previous topic :: View next topic  
evillalobos12

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 1:11 pm    Post subject: WHAT IN THE WORLD ARE "FLUFFY" MOUTHPIECES Reply with quote

I'm experimenting with different mouthpieces and I use the forum to find out about prospective equipment I could try out, but the term "fluffy" has me completely lost. This is a serious question- I genuinely would like to know what my fellow trumpet players mean when they describe a mouthpiece as "fluffy".
kehaulani
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've seen it here, and only here, and in my half century of being a professional musician, I have never seen that term. Doesn't mean it doesn't exist and it must mean something to somebody, but not to me or anyone I have known.

Yamaha 8310Z Bobby Shew trumpet
Benge 3X Trumpet
Benge 3X Cornet
Adams F-1 Flghn

Last edited by kehaulani on Fri Mar 01, 2019 1:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Tpt_Guy
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here it is from Schilke:

https://www.schilkemusic.com/products/mouthpieces/custom-series/

"A good teacher protects his pupils from his own influence."
-Bruce Lee
JayKosta
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That info from Schilke is confusing - I couldn't easily determine what particular mpc is being referred to.
"The mouthpiece affectionately known as the “fluffy” has a flugel style cup and trumpet stem with the same rim contour and feel as the other models in this series".

Aside from the Schilke info, if a person describes a mpc as being 'fluffy', I think that is their description of the sound that they produce when using the mpc, and not about the mpc itself.

Jay