• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Sensodyne?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
BStrad43
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2019 7:10 am    Post subject: Sensodyne? Reply with quote

As I get older, my teeth have become more sensitive and my dentist recommended using Sensodyne toothpaste. I have been using it for a few weeks now and I have noticed the horn has been less responsive. I have a harder time playing lower notes and coming in quieter. Nothing really has changed in the daily maintenance.

Could it be the toothpaste numbing my chops?

Thanks

K
Al Innella
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2019 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been using Sensodyne toothpaste for a few years and haven't had any problems. That's me,not you. I switched to Arm & Hammer sensitive because it cost a lot less. Arm & hammer has the same results as Sensodyne for me,again with no problem playing trumpet.

Try Arm& Hammer and see if helps. I tried Colgate sensitive,it didn't work for me,I was still sensitive to cold and hot,but it might work for you.

Hope this helps,

Al
Don Herman rev2
'Chicago School' Forum Moderator

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2019 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here -- been using various brands, whichever is cheapest, for years (Crest or Colgate now), not had problems I could directly trace to that. But you may be more sensitive for whatever reason.

I have had more problems just due to get older, however -- not so much with range, but technique and endurance is harder to maintain.
JayKosta
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2019 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another consideration is that Sensodyne (and other brands) have many-many different varieties.