• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Embouchure change comeback

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Comeback Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
cperret
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How many players out there are making a comeback, not from a long period off, but something like an embouchure change, injury, etc? I'm a professional trumpet player who's spent the last three months relearning his embouchure (and I have at least another four or five months before I can actually play again, I think,) and I am curious to hear from others who are going through a similar change. Thanks!
histrumpet
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been working on an embouchure change also and am finally seeing some positive results. It has been a long process.
TBone

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I apologize if this doesn't fit your topic criteria, but I'm always eager to throw in my story :

I'm not a professional, but I am in the middle of a change, too. I "quit" about 8 years ago when I realized that my embouchure was so terrible that I wouldn't be seeing any forward progress. Unwilling to spend the time necessary to fix it (this includes dropping out of several bands so I could go "back to the drawing board"), I just gave up.

It was a horrible mistake, and I've since started playing again - this time with a much more "textbook" embouchure. It feels great and natural, but as you can imaging, between the 8 year break and the new embouchure, I can't play well at all. I can't hit anything above a tuning C (though it was only a G a week ago), and my endurance is about 45 minutes. Tone is okay - it comes and goes - but my flexibility is great... something I never had before.