• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

how do I connect the trumpet to electronic effects?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Fredde

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

I've been playing jazz for a few years now and would like to try to use some electronic effects such as wah wah and distortion pedals - but how do I connect these things?

I have a Beyerdynamic clip on microphone for trumpet and since I'm a guitar player I also have a Fender guitar amp and a wah wah pedal.

I heard that one way of connecting all this stuff was to connect the microphone to a pre amp so the signal get higher, then connect the effects to the preamp and then connect the amp to the effects:

Trumpet - Preamp - effects - amp

is this ok or should I do something else?

Thanks!

Fred
mulligan stew
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

check over in the Jazz forum--and do a search. We've had a good bit of discussion on this lately.
FatPauly
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fredde -

You basically have it: Trumpet -> Mic -> Preamp/Mixer -> Effects -> Amp.

I would suggest using a mixer since they have Effects/Aux send and return circuits which can make it easy for you to balance the effects. Also, you can get some interesting doubling sounds with this.

One caution about using guitar pedals - they are expecting a much higher impedance signal than your preamp will put out. Like 10000 Ohms vs. 600 Ohms. This will affect the sound you get out of the pedal, and probably not in a good way.

- Paul Artola
Ellicott City, Maryland
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
mulligan stew
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote