• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Bach Finish Warranty Experiences

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bb Bob

PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2020 5:34 pm    Post subject: Bach Finish Warranty Experiences Reply with quote

Hi Folks,

Has anyone had experience with Bach regarding lacquer loss? There is a five year warranty and I didn’t see anything regarding finish exceptions. I’ll be starting the process of making contacts this coming Monday.

My 4 year old 19037 50th Anniverary has 3 spots; one on the bottom of the bell crook and a one on each of the 1st and 2nd valve balusters, where my right thumb goes.

This horn does not get a lot of use as I’m just a hobbyist that rotates horns.

Hoping to hear some success stories as I’d hate to hear this is normal. I don’t have this problem with my other lacquered horns.

Thanks in advance for sharing your experiences.

Best regards,

Bob
Bflatman
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2020 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree it is a clear warranty issue.

There are not supposed to be any defects in the finish within the warranty period.

You have a strong case.

Simply follow their advice, it will I am sure be resolved satisfactorily.
Selmer Invicta Trumpet
Yamaha YCR 2330II Cornet
Selmer Student Trumpet
Bohland and Fuchs peashooter Trumpet
Boosey and Hawkes Regent Cornet
Lark M4045 Cornet
LittleRusty
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2020 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is possibly a warranty issue, but possibly not.

To me, the OP's description indicates an issue at the wear points where the horn is gripped. If this is true it can be argued that the OP's body chemistry or lack of wiping down after playing is responsible. My hands ate through the silver on my trumpet back in my college and post-college days. Even the base metal was pitted.