• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Fill me in

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
oncebittentwiceshy

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there. I have been studying trumpet for many years now in school and have recently became really involved in it...I have saved up and gotten myself a nice horn but now I'm lost where to go...is there any suggestions you guys might have for me? I'm sorry I'm a little bland...but that's why I'm here.
bigbrowncow
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you clarify a bit about the question you want us to answer?
tpetplyr
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should immerse yourself in the study of orchestral music. Its the best stuff out there, even though some of the trumpet parts are less than exciting, there is plenty of work for us to do. I recommend Phillip Norris' Top 50 Orchestral Audition Excerpts. Pay special attention to Mahler and Strauss. Many challenges to come. Have fun!

Stuart
SCtrumpet

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the question is are you seriously thinking about majoring in music? If yes, do u want to major in classical, jazz, music education? If you want to perform I would definately recommend looking in your area for a big name teacher/performer in your area which you want to study with. Look at the trumpet teacher at your nearby colleges. For the most part they are more than likely looking for on the side trumpet students.

Good luck with that!!

Sammy
oncebittentwiceshy

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote