• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Whats your practice Routine?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
jgadvert
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2002 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Read a great post on the chicago school forum today about practicing to perform.

So much advice on what and how to play to improve. As a young student my highly competent teacher(who played trumpet exclusively!) gave me the standard boring arbans, clarke studies to work on each week...and nothing else

I, and probably many young students found this to be tedious AND SIMPLY NOT FUN. Playing the trumpet became a chore. Betcha
alot of young players drop the horn for this reason.

Today(many moons later). My practice routine includes:

1) starting with prescribed exercises(arbans, clarke etc...)

2) Then playing various songs of all musical types that INCORPORATES MANY OF THE THINGS WE NORMALLY PRACTICE THE ABOVE FOR(tonging, range work, slurring, playing musically, etc...)

For me, this is much more fun way to learn and improve. What does your practice routine include?

[ This Message was edited by: jgadvert on 2002-03-15 16:35 ]
Goldenchops55
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2002 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got my practice routine from Quad C. As soon as I wake up I do the James Stamp warm-up. Then I do a 20 minute caruso period. About an hour later, I do Arbans. I work on double and triple tonguing, Carnival of Venice, and scales for thiry minutes. Then I rest an hour and do Irons and other lips slurs for 30 minutes then rest an hour. Then I do Clarke for 30 minutes, and then I'm through. This is the best practice routine I have ever had. It strengthens lips fast!
Goldenchops55
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2002 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote