• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Piccolo Trumpet Help

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Krafty934
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys,
I'm a sophomore in high school and am wondering whether or not I should get a piccolo trumpet. The only trumpet I have is still my first beginner trumpet from 6 yrs. ago. The reason I want to get a piccolo trumpet is because I heard some songs played on the piccolo trumpet and I thought that the tone quality and sound were really good. Do you guys think that I should buy one, and if so, what's a good one for under $2000? Thanks for the advice!

Kaushik
DSanchee

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd suggest getting a C trumpet before you get a pic, you will find that a C trumpet will be used more.

Derek
Nonsense Eliminator
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is how I would prioritize my trumpet spending if I were you:

1.) Good teacher.
2.) Good B flat trumpet.
3+.) Whatever said teacher thinks is appropriate.

At the risk of sounding insulting, if you're asking this question in this venue, chances are you're not ready for a piccolo trumpet.
_Don Herman
'Chicago School' Forum Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tend to agree with the others, that upgrading your Bb is probably first. Getting that nice sound on the wee beastie is challenging at best (and hopeless at worst -- depends on what kind of day I'm -- and it -- are having! ) The picc is quite a bit tougher to play than your Bb, and takes slightly different mindset. (OK, I'm not sure about the "slightly" part.)

FWIWFM - Don
1B
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote