• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

45 years later, I finally understand

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
thecoast
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2022 2:40 am    Post subject: 45 years later, I finally understand Reply with quote

Welcome to what I hope will be a short post.

The first time I picked up a trumpet, it was my cousin's and I was about 13 and living in Puerto Rico. I didn't have my own trumpet till I was 15. I don't remember what brand it was. And at that time, a trumpet was a trumpet. And you either could play or you couldn't.

The next trumpet I got was a Getzen Caravelle. I think it was new and I was 17, and I bought it with my own work money in New Jersey. The reason for the new trumpet was that my first horn had been stolen--by my Dad's landlord's son! And I started playing on a #2 Parduba Double Cup at some time during those early years at the encouragement of the mom-and-pop store owner. I think it was called Platania's, and Mr. Platania was a nice guy and a trumpet player.

During my later teens, I got a hold of a Benge brochure. I was wowed then. And today I realize that ads can have an intoxicating effect on one's imagination especially when it was financially impossible for me to own what I thought was the most beautiful horn I had ever seen till then. And I really hadn't seen many.

Years later, as an adult in California, I began buying bargain Chinese horns and a beat up Olds Ambassador cornet, and learned a lot about what trumpets, cornets, and flugelhorns should not sound like.

I finally got a "pro" horn from Giardinelli that is just stamped with their brand, but is actually an Amati made in the Czech Republic. Beautiful, heavy, nice sound, decent valves. Got a flugelhorn from Amati. Had a nice sound, too.