• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

My fingers won't stay down!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
glassonion91168

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting in the forum. My third finger never seems to want to stay on the valve caps. Whenever I don't use my third valve, my finger tends to float a tiny bit above the valve. It's very frustrating, especially when playing fast passages. I think one of my problems that I can't fix is the small size of my hands. I was looking thru a catalog and saw these fingerweights that guitarists use. Do you think that may help me at all? Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks!

Lisa
Welk
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think that those thing would help. If it is what I thnik, those are used to make blocked chord ( translation from french) and they don't allow your finger to bend at all. I had this bad habbit ( because it is justa bad habbit, not a problem) a few years ago. I suggest to put the tips of your finger on the valve cap if you don't do it actually. If not, just pay attention to this little finger... or you may play somne stuff that use the 3rd finger often... this way, he'll get use to be there to play!

52' Olds Recording LA
Wick gold 4X

-=0=-Music is what gives us the beat, but it is also what makes beat our heart -=0=-
_gmdean
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote