• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

As an amateur, I decided not practice above E, F above staff

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sustained note
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2023 1:22 pm    Post subject: As an amateur, I decided not practice above E, F above staff Reply with quote

I'm an amateur, not so young and on heart meds. I play in 2 community bands. I practice about an hour on days w/o rehearsals.
My high range practice has been "(not so) long tones Ascending" from Peter Bond's "The singing trumpet" (pg. 83). I find it to be excellent for this purpose. It also has plenty of rest periods.
One could take it all the way up to triple C.
Today when I started playing from it above F over the staff and higher, I felt pressure in my chest, a bit more than I was comfortable with and also felt a bit dizzy.

A sudden thought hit me.
Maybe I should be careful and for health reasons shouldn't push the limit, that is I should keep it no higher than E, F above staff.
I once needed to play up to Eb at the band (on Quincy Jones "Soul Bossa Nova") but nowadays I would never need to play this high.

I think that for amateurs, certainly those who have had heart issues (and those who had a stroke or are prone to strokes), limiting high range is wise. Definitely when you don't need it in your actual repertoire.
Anyway, this is what I'll do from now on.

Giv'at Shmuel
Israel

Trumpet: Schilke B1 (2005)
Mouthpiece: Schilke Soloiste MG1
(Marc Geujon) gold plated
----------------

Keep a sense of humor.

Last edited by Sustained note on Thu Apr 27, 2023 12:39 am; edited 1 time in total
ldwoods
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2023 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote