• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

High range endurance

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> High Range Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
cipetojidi

PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2023 11:19 am    Post subject: High range endurance Reply with quote

Hello, I have a question regarding the development of high range endurance.
I have been playing for about ten years and about a year every day (between 20 minutes or an hour). During the first 4 months that I played daily, my level improved. But now there is no difference. After 20 minutes of playing in high range (c to g or a at the bottom of the staff) I can no longer play at this height. The only way is to blow a lot of air, much more than normal and with less upper lips in the mouthpiece. If I don't do that, the sound (if there is sound) is horrible like a new player playing for the first time.

Why this sound and how can I change this ?

I play a cornet with 4B mouthpiece
JayKosta
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2023 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A question about 'how you play' -

Are you trying to make your lips buzz - the same way as making a buzz on just the mouthpiece?
Doing it that way is wrong.
Oh ya, watch the conductor - they set what is 'on time'.
kehaulani
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2023 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

10 years? You need a good teacher!

Yamaha 8310Z Bobby Shew trumpet
Benge 3X Trumpet
Benge 3X Cornet
Adams F-1 Flghn
cheiden
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2023 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like me when I try to play a cornet with a Wick 4B.

Kidding aside (sort of) I agree that you really need a quality teacher and a suitable daily routine if you expect to make regular progress.
Bach 3C rim on 1.5C underpart
cipetojidi