• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Range Decrease After Main Horn Change

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> High Range Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
wZfFIGB4i

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2023 11:25 am    Post subject: Range Decrease After Main Horn Change Reply with quote

I am at the 2.25 year mark in a comeback after not playing for 40 years. I am in multiple ensembles. I have been playing a Yamaha 8310ZRS for 16 months and have really enjoyed playing it and have (re)developed skills I never thought I would have. One of these skills is range. I have been playing exercises where I routinely could play G6 to Bb7, and most of the time, tension free.

My personal circumstances require me to sell my Yamaha, so I am playing my 1977 ML Bach Strad 37 full time. My range is definitely reduced, with same mouthpiece (Schilke 15B). I feel all sorts of tension creeping in at E6. I am working on my exercises and hope to regain what I had.

I have acclimated to new horns and new mouthpieces, so I know it will take time. I have also developed confidence that I can overcome any difficult music obstacle with consistent practice.

Is this possibly one of things I won't overcome because of the difference in resistance between the two horns?

Is this a case where I may need to compensate with a mouthpiece that is slightly more opened up?
ACB Doubler Flugelhorn
Conn Director 17A Cornet '68
JonathanM
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2023 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote