• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Switching between Bb and C

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Orchestral/Chamber Music/Solo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dkjcliff

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2023 4:05 pm    Post subject: Switching between Bb and C Reply with quote

I am new to playing the C trumpet. I just started about 6 months ago and until recently I still did most of my practicing on Bb. I am finding it very challenging to switch from Bb to C in the midst of a rehearsal. The more I play the C, the more it feels like a completely different animal. The C feels like it wants to slot much harder and generally takes more effort to play. After I practice on it I feel much more physically exhausted than after playing my Bb. Is this typical of a C trumpet or is it more likely an indication that my C trumpet is not very good (very possible as it is not one of the standard well-respected C models, it’s a Couesnon)?

Also, I’m wondering if anyone has any special tips on switching back and forth to make it easier. Or do I just need to get used to sticking with one horn per rehearsal? I’m switching based on the horn the music is written for but maybe I need to get used to transposing everything for my C.

Thanks.
falado
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2023 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote