• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

early retirement, music 2nd act?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Comeback Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
BGinNJ
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2023 4:57 pm    Post subject: early retirement, music 2nd act? Reply with quote

I'm wondering how many here have started to do gigs after finishing up with a day job. I'm a 'young" 60, got sick of my engineering job and quit.

I'm not exactly a comebacker, since I never really stopped for a long period of time, and I've been practicing regularly for the past 10 years. What I haven't done is much playing out- mostly jam sessions and a stint with a big band (until they heard my guitar playing and decided they need me more on that).

I don't have any false illusions about making much more than gas money, and I've heard plenty about how bad the music business is. But, I know people who are busy with gigs and teaching, and they're not all retirees.
kehaulani
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2023 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What kind of playing are you hoping to make money in?

Yamaha 8310Z Bobby Shew trumpet
Benge 3X Trumpet
Benge 3X Cornet
Adams F-1 Flghn
cbtj51
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2023 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My wife began her decline from a brain bleed in 2012. By early 2014, her seizures becoming a daily focus, it became evident that early retirement at 62 would become necessity for me.