• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Excellent thoughts on formal/informal music training

View previous topic :: View next topic  
kehaulani
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2024 8:45 am    Post subject: Excellent thoughts on formal/informal music training Reply with quote

Anne Kathrin Dern is a German film composer, now living/working in Hollywood, who is both formally trained and self-taught and has some excellent observations on the subject.

The topic comes up from time-to-time, so I thought it may be of some readers' interest. Enjoy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YGtrq9Qnx6I&ab_channel=Anne-KathrinDern

Yamaha 8310Z Bobby Shew trumpet
Benge 3X Trumpet
Benge 3X Cornet
Adams F-1 Flghn
abontrumpet
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2024 11:24 am    Post subject: Re: Excellent thoughts on formal/informal music training Reply with quote

kehaulani wrote:
Anne Kathrin Dern is a German film composer, now living/working in Hollywood, who is both formally trained and self-taught and has some excellent observations on the subject.

I'll be needlessly picky and say that you are self-taught until you're formally trained, then you are "formally-trained." Every formally-trained musician is also self-taught, an inherent quality of learning.

But, yes, she does have a good debate on a gamut of topics. Many musicians should consider non-traditional paths if playing/composing is their goal. Getting private lessons from "the best" is going to be significantly cheaper than paying full tuition at any university. You can do that indefinitely and enter the ranks of the pros if you play/compose well enough. But nobody is becoming a pro just on youtube alone, you need to get formal lessons to drastically shortcut the learning process.