• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Playing In a Musical Theater Setting

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Jazz/Commercial
View previous topic :: View next topic  
tptLad

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2024 10:55 am    Post subject: Playing In a Musical Theater Setting Reply with quote

I'm a high school sophomore hoping to get into the business of playing trumpet in a musical theater pit orchestra setting. I was wondering what specific techniques I should work on and what extra pieces of gear I need. To get better-informed responses, here is a little bio of my musical life...

I started on keys at the age of 5, and have been working hard on that, but, in the musical theater world, keys books are boring unless you are the keyboard 1/conductor. I picked up trumpet because I wanted to be a part of band in 6th grade. That lasted a whole 6 months because then the world ended, and like everything else, band was canceled. I picked up the horn again in the fall of my 8th grade year, this time playing with what is now my high school concert band (I had been invited to play keys for marching season, but had to switch instruments for concert band). At this point, I have been playing anywhere between 30 minutes and 2 hours every day. A portion of that time is typically spent reading the lead books from my favorite musicals. I would just go ask my high school musical director if I could play in their pit, however I am currently performing in the spring musical and the fall musical conflicts with marching season. My current playable upper register stretches from G on top of the staff to D above the staff depending on the day, and I am second chair in concert, jazz, and marching.

Any tips on specific things to work on?
tptLad

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2024 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

*Fingers crossed Tim replies*
acritzer