• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

High Note Air Pressure Survey

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
olympicfan2

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2024 2:22 pm    Post subject: High Note Air Pressure Survey Reply with quote

Hello guys

I´m very excited to introduce myself to this forum. My name is Maximilian from Germany and I´m actually a chemist and CTA in my M.Sc. program currently. I started to pick up the trumpet shortly after I turned 23 - that was in October 2017. I only had three trumpet lessons in 2018 - two of them with a private teacher and one with Prof. Malte Burba - the rest is self taught via books and the internet.

I started this topic because I have been reading that there are quite a few members that claim to have real solid high notes inbetween a double G and double C. The teacher I used to study with is a lead player and has once done me the favour of playing a scale up to a mezzoforte double A. Because I´m a scientist and like to discover things in a universally accepted way, I wanted to ask you guys who have solid range up the double G to C area if you can measure the air pressure in the oral cavity. I ask you to do this while playing a thee octave diatonic or chromatic scale with at least mezzoforte volume to your highest note and not chance the dynamics while doing that. Then post the pressure values for every note. Also I ask you to not change the embochure and just use air compression and tongue arch to get there. It´s important that only players who can play these notes for real take part in this survey. Players who didn´t own these notes are not adressed.