• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Mouthpiece with same brand as trumpet

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
kerouack
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2024 10:17 am    Post subject: Mouthpiece with same brand as trumpet Reply with quote

Hello,
I have a 35 years old yamaha 6345, not using it for 20 years.
Last week I started playing with it with the Bach mpc my old teacher told me to buy, after than I tried the yamaha 7C mpc that came with the horn.
Even not been the 7c my diameter, the yamaha mpc worked great with the yamaha trumpet, lot better than the Bach mpc.

I just buyed a yamaha artist model, after try it with the yamaha 17B that comes with the horn, I tried it with my GR 3M and GR 3MX mpc. Even not been the yamaha 17 my diameter , the trumpet works A LOT better with the yamaha 17B than with the GR mouthpieces.
With the GR mouthpieces works good, with the yamaha mpc works GREAT.

So my point is, using a mpc same brand as the trumpet, at least in the case of yamaha, seems to be a huge advantage.
It makes sense, engineers can make a mpc that perfectly first their trumpets, but if someone design a mpc for " all trumpets " it can not be perfect for any different horn.

So I am going to sell my GR's, and buy Yamaha mouthpieces, not because " are better" than the GR mouthpieces but just cause yamaha mouthpieces work better than the GR's in a Yamaha trumpet.

Playing a trumpet brand that also design mpc, or a mpc that also design trumpets, seems to be a huge advantage .
Andy Cooper
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2024 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It has to do with "mouthpiece/receiver" gap. Yamahas are a bit different -still many players do just fine playing them with a different brand mouthpiece.