• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Best First Piccolo?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
dankeater

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2024 7:58 pm    Post subject: Best First Piccolo? Reply with quote

Hi, first post here.

I am currently in my last semester of undergrad in music school. This year my focus has been piccolo playing. I am renting an old Yamaha YTR-6180 from the school right now and I've been having a lot of fun learning and performing the repertoire.

When I graduate in April, I will have to return the piccolo back to school. I want to keep playing though... which means I will have to buy one . I am unsure what would be best for me; I have only ever played the Yamaha and there aren't many piccolo trumpets in local shops that I can test out. What would be the best option for a horn that is friendly to a newer piccolo player but I also won't outgrow?
Subtropical and Subpar
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2024 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Schilke P5-4. They aren't cheap but they are the industry standard, as it were. Every so often a late model (made in the last twenty years, say) will come up for sale here or elsewhere for $1,000 or $1,500 or more under the asking price for a new one.

Full disclosure: this is the only picc I've owned. I'm sure others will chime in with Yammies and Shireses and Selmers and similar; there are lots of reputable makers and as always with all trumpets, what might be glorious for me might be terrible for you or the reader, and vice versa. Lots of subjectivity in these matters.

Is there any way you can finagle a trip to a city with a big trumpet store as a graduation present?
1962 Reynolds Argenta LB trumpet
1965 Conn 38A
1995 Bach LR18072
2003 Kanstul 991
2011 Schilke P5-4 B/G
2021 Manchester Brass flugel
trpthrld
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2024 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote