• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Monette C Trumpet Mouthpieces

View previous topic :: View next topic  
21trumpet
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2024 6:44 pm    Post subject: Monette C Trumpet Mouthpieces Reply with quote

I’ve been playing the same size Monette mouthpiece for about 30 years now.
For the past 10 years it’s the B4S-S2 Classic Resonance. Prior it was the B4S.
I just got myself a C trumpet because the concert band I am in actually plays some classical music every year for our spring concert. This year 4 of our 8 pieces have C parts. I have been using my B4S S2 mouthpiece on my C trumpet. Does anyone out there happen to know what I could expect if I bought a Monette C4S S2 to use on the C trumpet. Will the intonation be better, even though it is actually pretty good with the B mouthpiece or is there something else that will improve with a C mouthpiece. Or is it just Monette hocus pocus and a waste of money.
Wild Thing Flugelhorn - Copper - Raw
Yamaha YCR2330 Cornet
Yamaha Custom Piccolo
Monette B4S S2 Mouthpiece
matthes93401
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2024 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, using a Monette C mouthpiece will work better. You might consider the C3S3 since you like the B4SS2 on Bb.
Brassnose
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2024 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, Matthes is right. I used to play a B4L for a few years before switching to AR. The B4L worked on my C - sort of … intonation and attacks were really quirky and I never used that combo on a gig.

EDIT: while not everyone is doing it, I know of at least two other companies offering specific C mouthpiece lengths. If hocus pocus it’s not proprietary to Monette