• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Flat Embouchure

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> The Balanced Embouchure
View previous topic :: View next topic  
carlos_knology

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let me start off by saying that I'm not a trumpet novice. I've been playing the trumpet on and off for about 18 years.

I used to gig in local latin bands while playing the trumpet for the US Army Band.

However, I have always felt I had endurance/range issues. I've always suspected that my problem may be embouchure related (too much pressure, playing slightly off center, somewhat upstream) but never took the time to look into it.

I'm fed up with mediocrity and tomorrow I'm going to resume taking lessons for the first time since my Army Band days.

I'm glad I found this forum and after reading some at the BE website, I wonder if I'm one of these "flat embouchure" guys.

I've taken some pictures with my dig. camera and was wondering if you guys would mind taking a look. The pictures were taken as I played a concert Bb (3rd space C).

I'm thinking about ordering the BE book.

The pictures can be found at:

http://www.knology.net/~carlos/images/

Thanks, Carlos

[ This Message was edited by: carlos_knology on 2004-03-17 19:08 ]
trumpetjunkie
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Carlos!
No matter what the case, if you practice BE faithfully you will see an improvement in your daily playing. Get the book!
Larrios
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Carlos,