• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Newbies of newbie

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Zargama

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been an admirer of the Miles Davis and Louis Armstrong for years, I love the sound of the trumpet. So last weekend, I bought one. Thus, with no musical background whatsoever, I started practicing about an hour every day. I would like to know some beginners tips. I ought to thank the salesman ripped me off and sold me a yamaha advantage book on a clarinet when I clearly asked for trumpet otherwise I would not have discovered this wonderful website.
thegambler

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Congratulations on picking up a new (and great) hobby!

The tip for today (and every day you play trumpet for the rest of your life) is: RELAX
Lo
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

Congratulations. The clarinet is in the same key as the trumpet (Bb) so you can use the exercises in it, although you will have to figure out the fingerings for yourself. If you are considering this to be a true hobby of yours, I would suggest to find a private trumept teacher so you start off right. I totally regret not having a teacher from the beginning and it is messing me up now. Good luck. Stay relaxed and you will do just fine.
trumpeternick
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Patience, patience, patience.