• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Help me!!

View previous topic :: View next topic  
kimmerz549

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2004 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am looking into buying a new Bach TR300 Silver with Gold trim trumpet and I am wondering if that is a good trumpet to buy. I am a freshman in college and consider myself an intermediate player. Is this an intermediate trumpet? Please let me know ASAP! Thank you!!!
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
musicemt
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2004 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I remember, the TR300 is a student horn, the plating and trim is to satisfy aeshtetic tastes. If you're considering a Bach intermediate tpt, why not try an Omega? It's a pretty decent horn for the price. If brand is not an issue with you, you might try Jupiter or Getzen horns....I've heard good things about them, and the prices are pretty darn reasonable, especially used.

Hope this helps.

Ben

Zeus Guarnerius
Bach C 239 w/ Blackburn pipe/slide
Weril Regium flugelhorn
Yamaha 14B4-GP
Yamaha Shew-lead
musiclifeline
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2004 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a student horn... but it's very playable. They tend to be a little tight, but if you're playing efficiently, you should be okay with it. I wouldn't bother with the gold trim (unless that's your only option) as it's extra money kind of needlessly spent.

How long have you been playing? And what were you playing before?

Also, they're very cheap used, I wouldn't spend the money on a brand new one. Your local horn shop might have one...

And if you're planning to stick with it, there's no reason not to get a pro horn that you'll have and enjoy for a long time. Plenty of intermediates on the TH use pro horns...