• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

On the right track?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> The Balanced Embouchure
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ETK
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2004 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How does technique and strength relate in the balanced embouchure?

The reason I ask is that I have been playing again for about 4 months and using BE everyday for one half hour for 2 months. I am making progress on the exercises, pedal tones, tonguing, snaps, sound similar to the CD, etc.

But I am wondering if it is possible that the progress is coming from just gaining strength and I am not really using the proper BE technique and still using a flat chin. (However, I do sense my lips rolling in and out.)

Are there some things to notice or look for that would indicate that a person is on the right track and just needs to keep going and be patient?
trumpetplayer87
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2004 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like you are on the right track...wish I was motivated enough to set aside 1/2 for BE.

Right now my whole trumpet thing is stagnating it seems. Hopefully I'll get back on track before it's too late...... :

Heh...I expect to get a bunch of comments about how I'm lazy. Please do...it might motivate me!!!!!!!

Bonnie

Sounds: http://www.sitesled.com/members/bonniej
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2004 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Technique is more important than strength. BE beginners often get muscle fatigue because they are overusing muscles, or using opposing muscles that fight each other. As you learn how to relax or ease up on the muscles that don't need to be tensed hard, fatigue drops away. It is amazing how little muscular effort is actually needed when the embouchure is set properly.