• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

The sentimental horn...

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
DaveH
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2004 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seeking comments to see of I am OK mentally...

I am going to purchase another horn soon. Not a new horn, but a vintage horn. I do not "need" it. I already have a good trumpet.

This is an emotional, sentimental, nostalgic purchase. What I have in mind is the make and model of trumpet that I started playing when I began to take the trumpet seriously many, many years ago - like nearly 38 years ago. It is the kind of horn that I grew up playing in high school in the late sixties. It is the kind of horn that I made many of my best, fondest musical memories playing. It was my first real, professional trumpet. It was there when many great things happened back years ago...And it was the horn that I foolishly sold years ago, not realizing what I was doing. I haven't played one for years now, and I am very anxious to get my hands on another one like it.

Simply put, I just want it around like I might want an old, close friend around. Purely nostalgia.

What do you think? Would anyone else be motivated like this? Or, should I wait for the next bus to the funny farm?

Even if you tell me to get on the bus, I'm still going to get this horn... :smile:

[ This Message was edited by: DaveH on 2004-05-04 15:37 ]
fuzzyjon79
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2004 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a Schilke B5 out there that I am the original owner of. I saw it on Ebay a few months back.. but was not able to bid at the time. I know who bought it.. and I am watching it like a hawk... if I ever see it on Ebay again.. I will buy it back.. just to have for sentiment. It was the first professional horn my parents got for me.
_swthiel
Heavyweight Member