• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Trumpet/component innovation vs. copy/refine

View previous topic :: View next topic  
_Daff
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As recreational come-back player of 2-3 years, I’m relatively new to this gear-headed stuff you guys are sharing with each other and actually find it quite interesting. I have learned a lot from you. (Now if I could only translate 20% of all this stuff from my brain to my chops, I’d be a half-assed decent trumpet player!)

A few months after I took up playing again, as fluke stumbled upon GR’s website, became fascinated with their design approach, and subsequently play GR mouthpieces exclusively.

One thing I have noticed about the design and manufacturing of the gear, i.e. trumpets and components, is that, not unlike in my profession of architecture, there are true innovators, but the vast majority are emulators.

The majority of horns and mp’s I see appear to be variations of a theme, copies and/or refinements to something other(s) originated. Certain manufacturers openly confess to copying. Many assemble components, Frankensteining the ‘winning’ combination of pieces.

I am curious, who are today’s real innovators? Dave (dcstep) talks about the twin tube technology of his Selmer Paris TT concept. Bri and Gary are exploring contnuity in sound wave in designing their GR mouthpieces.

Who are today’s true pioneers and what are they up to?
Tootsall
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote