• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

My new Olds Super

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Super1964

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2004 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I recently purchased an Olds Super on Ebay. It is a great horn however my play seems to have deteriorated since I started playing this horn. I went from a Yamaha YTR 2335 student horn to the Olds Super. I still use the same mouthpiece (11C4) which I just started using about 8 months ago. I use to use the 11B4. When I say my play has deteriorated I mean that my embouchure feels week and I have very little confindence in my embouchure. I can't seem to find the sweet spot where everything seems to be in order. I have been playing for only two years so I am in the very beginning stages of my journey. Is there a difference from playing a Yamaha student horn to an Olds Super. I was told that the Olds requires more air because it is a heavier horn than the Yamaha YTR 2335. Therefore my embouchure has not weakened however I just have to give it more air. Does anyone have any thoughts on my struggles and whether the difference in horns is the cause?
_gmdean
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2004 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you should talk to a trumpet teacher and work on your air support, which is about supporting the air with your diaphragm (sorry no spell check) muscles. Good student horns are easy to blow without having this fundimental in place, which is one of their attractions. I am a returner and despite years of tai chi I will admit to not having the air support sorted yet. Without the air support you are probably using pressure to keep doing what you used to do which is why you are identifying the problem as being with your chops and mp.