• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

combination gig bags: trumpet & flugel

View previous topic :: View next topic  
weiss017

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2004 4:14 pm    Post subject: combination gig bags: trumpet & flugel Reply with quote

Hi! I'm new to trumpetherald, and I'm looking for a combination gig bag that will hold both my Bb trumpet and my flugelhorn.

I've been disappointed that many bags I've seen don't seem to hold or pad the instruments very firmly; it seems the horns could jostle around pretty freely.

Does anyone out there know of a decent bag that holds the horns pretty secuirely? (Ideally, the bag I'm looking for could also be worn as a back pack).

Any info would be appreciated!
trumpet_tim

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

_Daff
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to TH Peter. As a coincidence, I have been on the same search over the last couple months and wound up ordering a Dolly bag from, another coincidence, Steve Wiseman of Dolly Bags. They are trumpet players (I believe four generations) and the bags they produce incorporate their perceptions of what a bag should be. My opinion is that they've got it 'dialed in'.

Their phone number is 1-908-653-1324.

Have a good one.
trumpetmike
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to TH

www.wisemancases.com

Wiseman Cases - not from the same Wiseman mentioned above. These are the Rolls Royce of cases (think expensive!) but worth every penny. You can reset the inside of the case to accomodate a variety of combinations of instrument. At the moment I have mine configured for Bb, C and piccolo, with room for mouthpiece pouches and a couple of mutes. I can alter that to accomodate a flugel instead of the C without any problems.