• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

AFter a heart attack..........

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Comeback Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bandman322
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2004 5:27 pm    Post subject: AFter a heart attack.......... Reply with quote

I found it interesting reading this forum. I have been playing professionally since 1976, and I was a band director 1979-2002. I never knew what it meant to be without my horn, and then it happened. On February 17th of this year I had a massive heart attack, followed by a quadruple bypass. The bypass was blocked after 10-weeks, and I've had 3 surgeries since then.

Five weeks ago I made my return to the bandroom, and on that same day I started in on a daily practice regiment. I was astounded at what I had lost in half a year, and my body ached from playing. Five weeks later it still hurts to play, and I am aware of my heart problems on a daily basis.

I must say that I'd rather pass away with my horn in my hands than live with out it. I must also say that I took playing for granted. Something that was always there, and something I thought no one could ever take away from me.

To all you come back players, I understand what you are going through more than you think, and I thank you for sharing your stories. You have been a great inspiration for me. If you can get back on a horn after many years, I know I can do it post heart attack.

Thanks for your love and support of music and the other arts!!!

Bb - Bach Strad 180ML-37

"To be a teacher you need to be as good a performer as you can be: you'll have more to impart to your students musically." - John Haynie
_PhilPicc
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2004 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bandman332.

Welcome back to playing and all the best on your recovery.