• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Rotary flugel

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Cornet/Flügelhorn
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sooner
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:52 pm    Post subject: Rotary flugel Reply with quote

Since I am a student I am looking for a solid yet cheap flugel. The Cervany rotary flugel at WWBW seems to be a good deal and I've heard good things about it. The only problem is that about all I've heard about it is that it is a solid horn for the money.

Can someone who is played one comment a little more about the characterists of the horn. One main concern I have with mid range rotary valve instruments is that the linkage tends to be noisy. Does this horn suffer from that problem?

Proffessional poker dealer/player (helps support my music habit) and trumpet player of the Octopi.

Now a synth junkie as well
old geezer
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My wife and I went on a Fugal safari and in one of our ventures we spent a day at wwbw. I asked several times to try the flugal you mentioned but the guy who gets the horns for you wouldn't do it. He said they had to many problems with them and they were very fragile. I am 55 yr. old and consider myself pretty easy on my equipment so I asked again to try it, he just said not to bother it was cheaply made and doesn't hold up. I also wanted to try the V1 and Kanstul flugal but they couldn't find any. We were ready to buy 2 flugals if we found one we liked so that we would match in our quintet and praise band. It will be a long time before we waste a day and travel up there again. old geezer Dave
Yamaha Mike Vax 450573
Yamaha 231 Flugel 15383
Olds Amb. Cornet 50734
E.D.Lewis
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote