• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

A newbie question

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Comeback Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jruthefam

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 8:29 am    Post subject: A newbie question Reply with quote

I am new to the sight and seriously considering taking up the trumpet again. I have not played since High School in 1974. How should I best invest my equipment dollar. When I was in school I played a Bach Stradivarius and a Conn Constellation. What should I look for and where should I look for it. My conditions are this:

1. If I really get serious I don't want to have to replace the horn I
purchase any time in the near future.
2. If I don't do well, I would like to recover as much of my investment as
possible.
3. I want a great sounding horn.

Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Gene
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You sound very close to where I was 11 months ago. I decided to go with a "Pro" model horn.... but which one?

A major thing is the try as many as you are able chose the one you feel most confortable with.

From a lack of knowing where to start I bought a Bach 5C mouth piece (which has since been replaced by a Curry 5C) just to see if I could get any noise out of it. Then I tried Conn Vintage 1, two Bach Strads, Yamaha Zeno, something else, Getzen Doc Sever, Getzen Custom 3050, and wound up getting a Getzen Custom 3051 and was near on to information over load as well as driving people areound here and at a couple of music stores nuts. I think these makes pretty well covers the gambit of the 'production custom pro horns' The ones I tried are all in the $1800 range new and none should loose much of there value latter.