• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

My Introduction - Long Read

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Comeback Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
EDP™

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 12:31 pm    Post subject: My Introduction - Long Read Reply with quote

Hello fellow player. I'm new to this site and wanted to share my story. Reading all of your comeback threads have really inspired me to get serious again about my horn. Past frustrations have had me in a wurlwind the past few years but I can't supress my passion for this instrument.

I started playing in 3rd grade. The clarinet was actually my first instrument. In the elementary school I went to, students couldn't take band until grade three. Anyhow, I signed up for the clarinet and stayed on it for a few days. Our teacher needed more trumpet (cornet actually) players so I volunteered to switch. This would turn out to be one of the biggest decisions I made. I continued to play on throughout elementary school. I was eeventually one of the better players my instuctor has tought (those were his words).

Once getting to middle school, I would began a development phase that allowed me to grow tremendously as a trumpeter. My instructor's name was Maurice Davis. Although not a famous name to most, he is one of the best trumpeters I've heard to this day. He spent his eraly years in the Motown machine playing on some of the greatest motown hits we know today. Name any motown great and he was probably the lead horn on the album.