• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Please help, I have a tight throat

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> High Range Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
nasnysom

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2002 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been playing for about seven years now, but ever since I started, I had a REALLY bad habit of tensing up my throat whenever I tried to play high.

When I try to play up in the high register, my throat tightens up and not much air comes out. And this isn't like double C high, this is like G high. I know, it sounds pathetic, but its true. As a result it's almost impossible for me to play the lead part.

Even though I consider myself a good musician/singer, and I'm real good on the piano, this bad habit really restricts me from getting the most of my trumpet.

Does anybody know any techniques to cure this "tight-throat" syndrome?
pedaltonekid
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2002 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Work on your breathing. Something as simple as breathing in and out through a 1" OD/1/2" ID flexible plastic tube can help or get a breath builder. Also work on playing comfortable notes with a nice open throat and gradually increase the range for which you can do this.
Zaphod
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2002 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It ins't that hard: think about the air "flowing" from your lungs through your lips. Remove all obstacles in between.

Try to
- lift your chin (slightly push it forward, do NOT pull it back)
- bring your tongue up and forward (say "sea")
- don't pull your shoulders up, stay relaxed(!)
- don't think about pressure in your lungs, think about airstream velocity at your lips

"listen" to your body: you know (subconsciously) where you stop the airstream