• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Schools for Trumpet in Alabama

View previous topic :: View next topic  
mafields627
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2002 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm a college freshman at a school in Alabama and wanted to get some opinions from people as to what the best schools for studying trumpet are down here. I never did get around to this before I picked a school and am still curious as to how people would rank the schools within the state. I'll keep what school am I to myself for now, so feel free to not hold back.

No representation is made that the quality of this post is greater than the quality of that of any other poster. Oh, and get a teacher!
Redhothorn
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2002 6:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I enjoyed my brief stay at Troy State University in Troy. If you are thinking about switching schools in that area ... I'd consider Florida State as their music program has been strong for years. Use to be a great Teacher in the area named Bean (Roy ?) ... alot of our players took lessons from him.

Rusty
Cozy
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2002 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My relatives live all over, from Sand Mtn., to B'ham, to HVL. A cousin got his music degree at Auburn; loved it. Another cousin enjoyed Jax State. Currently, JSU also offers experience with Spirit, a fine drum corps.
Another cousin is now going to Northern AL on scholarship. Being around Florence/Muscle Shoals, it offers great programs for the music industry. FSU, as redhot mentions, is also strong in music, I hear.