• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Trombone

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Donald S. Reinhardt
View previous topic :: View next topic  
DSR
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2002 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey,

Although this is a trumpet website, it is the only place I can consult individuals regarding Reinhardt, so I'm going to ask a question regarding playing the trombone.

Basically it is this: I love the trombone...not quite as good as the trumpet, but still a great instrument. I want to start playing it in addition to my trumpet. The other night this girl brought her trombone to rez and asked if I wanted to play. So I started playing and man I could get a nice sound! I also had a lot more endurance and range than on trumpet. This is not the only time I have played. My brother is also a trombone player, so when I'm at home I play his.

So my question is: (and Rich you might know a lot about this from experience) Can I double instruments? Will this harm my playing in any way? Just FYI, I'm a IVA on trombone, and a IV on trumpet. I can tell I'm a IVA on bone because I have the most range, flexibility, and best tonal timbre with a really low mouthpiece placement, and the horn angle tilts down slightly. My chin is not even close to getting in the road.

Would valve bone be better than slide?

What are your thoughts?
bgibson
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2002 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

See posts under Did Doc ever sayanything...................
If you have the same embouchure, same pivot and place over the trpt setting you are OK.
WEG
bgibson
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2002 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rich will nail me for this:
Slide trombone is better than valve.
Doc had some slide position sheets for doublers.
Also basic position rules for all the keys.
WEG
Wilktone