• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

What is a good sound?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Donald S. Reinhardt
View previous topic :: View next topic  
BeboppinFool
Donald Reinhardt Forum Moderator

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2002 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's something that I remember Doc talking about frequently, and I'd like to hear from others before giving you my take on this topic.

What kind of music do you play?

What kind of gigs do you work?

What do you consider a good sound?

Rich
blasticore
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2002 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

-"What kind of music do you play?"

Everything from orchestra literature to jazz.

-"What kind of gigs do you work?"

None, I'm a poor student musician...

-"What do you consider a good sound?"

Call me too inexperienced to answer the question, but I consider a good sound to be any sound that's clear and fits in with the music it's being used for. I can personally enjoy a sound that's "terribly bright" if it locks in with what the ensemble's doing. The Madison Scouts' sound makes perfect sense to me, however, replace Phil Smith with Roger Ingram and we have a problem .
Mr.Hollywood
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2002 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm strictly a commercial type trumpet player.

I play shows (name acts) club dates (weddings, bar mitzvahs, private parties), latin bands, a few night clubs now and then, and some record dates, although there are not as many as there used to be. I also play in some big bands even though I don't like it very much. The big bands all seem to play too loud and never pay any attention to dynamics.