• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Red Rot Blues

View previous topic :: View next topic  
bebopbenge

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2003 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My primary horn recently started getting a few spots on the leadpipe. The folks at Woodwind and Brasswind said there's no stopping it. I've been thinking about plating it but they said it would bubble without replacing the leadpipe. They also said they take measurements of it then match it "best they can" anyone have experience with this?
And any suggestions? A New leadpipe on a vintage horn makes me uneasy.

-Equipment -
L.A Benge CG W/ #6 bell
Holton T-602
Yamaha YFH-231 Flugelhorn
Tim80
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2003 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dustin,

I'm just a comeback hack who enjoys attempting to play a horn. I also have a Benge. When I started playing again I hadn't looked at my horn other than oiling the valves and slides so they wouldn't stick. When I decided I was gonna get serious about playing again I pulled my trusty ol' LA Benge 3X+ out of the case. As I gave it a once over I noticed bubbles in the lead pipe and a few in the main tuning slide. Yep, red rot. I posted on this forum and recieved some good advice. Some of the best advice I recieved was to just keep the horn clean and the red rot may not get too much worse over many years to come. The red rot hasn't eaten through the lead pipe on my horn. So I've decided to leave it alone. The horn sounds and plays ok other than the first valve has plenty of wear. I'm playing a Schilke at this time. Because of sentimental value I would never want to let go of the Benge. To be honest I've tried out several top notch horns and I keep going back to the Benge when all is said and done. The SChilke may displace it however. Another forum member has borrowed it and is playing it now because his Strad is being overhauled.