• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Does the Pivot System work for legit playing?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Donald S. Reinhardt
View previous topic :: View next topic  
RhythmDoctor

PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2003 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm new here, but nevertheless I'll shake things up a bit. I'm looking for your opinions on the appropriateness of Doc's Pivot System for "legit" playing. Doc was famous for coaching fine lead players, but do you think his concept of sound (and playing equipment) could fit in an orchestral style? Are there any top-tier orchestra players that used his method without some major modifications? (At the time I studied with him, I was too young and naive to recognize any orchestral players he may have mentioned to me.)

Here's the reason for my questions: