• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Building Endurance

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
gander

PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2003 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm a new member here so please forgive me if this has been discussed.

About 5 months ago I started playing again after many years off. My children are in elementary school band. I started playing again so that I could play with them while they practice. It seems to encourage them to practice more often and with more intensity. I fell in love with the trumpet, all over again. Besides kicking myself for giving it up in the first place, I have decided to keep playing.

I find that at this time I can practice about 30 to 40 minutes, 5 nights a week. Currently I am using Arban. While my technical skill and range seem to be returning, slowly, I am really struggling with my endurance. Both technique and range start to really suffer after about 25 minutes.

I realize that this will increase with time, but my question is, what specific techniques or exercises do people suggest to help with endurance???

Thanks

Kanstul Chicago 1000
Reynolds Contempora Cornet
Conn Vintage 1 Flugelhorn
G-MAN
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2003 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote